I’m alive or something.

by Shannon

This little guy lives at the Penn Museum of Archeology and Anthropology.

This little guy lives at the Penn Museum of Archeology and Anthropology.

Remember when I said, “I’ll post every Monday! I’ll be a DISCIPLINED WRITER.”

Yeah. About that.

So as you all know, I went back to school. I attend Immaculata University, and am completing my English degree (focus in literature) and am earning a Secondary Ed certification at the same time. It’s not as if I have not had anything to write about–I have actually had quite a few interesting things to share–but that I just didn’t have the time.

So, without further ado, here is an unorganized list of things that have been keeping me busy:

  • The Epic of Gilgamesh
  • The Iliad
  • The Odyssey
  • The Aeneid
  • The Penn Museum which is SO COOL you guys I want to live there
  • Listening to archeologists give lectures about Troy and how it was LITERALLY A BRONZE AGE TOURIST TRAP I seriously can’t
  • writing lesson plans
  • spending all of my money on scrapbooking supplies so I can make ridiculous presentation displays
  • drinking all of the keuring pods in Radnor so I can stay awake through the ridiculous amounts of data entry I have to do
  • doing ridiculous amounts of data entry so I can continue affording to live
  • Begging every school in the county (and some outside) to let me come in and observe
  • and then being ignored by all of them
  • inventing silly study games for students I don’t actually have
  • writing pretend lesson plans to deliver to my class of adults studying education (not high schoolers studying English
  • and finding out that I don’t suck at teaching(YAY), but that my class actually DOES suck at English.
  • doing an in-depth structuralist and reader-response analysis to The Fault In Our Stars for my final paper
  • and then finding out that the teacher only wants six to eight pages, instead of the necessary twelve
  • and having weekly meltdowns over my online required basic earth and space science class, which is harder than any of my major classes despite the fact that it is just a core.

PHEW. okay. Maybe over the break I will have time to write in actual paragraph form. Until then, Merry Christmachanukwanzika!

