things I am working on.

by Shannon

I started rewriting one of my stories. It’s the one about the girl couple, who are breaking up due to the literal specter of one of their indiscretion. I say “specter” because he’s alive, and is the main character of another story semi-unrelated to this one. When I first started this, it was in a MS Word document, with a long, rambling break-the-fourth-wall intro that developed into first-cum-second-person, present tense. At the time, the idea was that the point of view came from one and was directed at the other, to suggest that even though they weren’t literally speaking, her thoughts never left her now ex girlfriend.

It didn’t really work. Any number of people could (and did) tell me that at the time. I remember Melissa pulling one of those super polite “well if you really insist I don’t want to crush your literary dreams and far be it from me to tell you it could NEVER work but really what on earth are you even thinking” moves. And, well, most people who tell me I’m writing like an idiot turn out to be right, and as I receive and promptly ignore criticism, I know that, but I also know that on some level I need to come to the conclusion on my own. I mention it because it means that my original idea of copy/pasting the scenes into Scrivener to quick rework them into the current version really won’t work. Which is okay. It’s a bit neater now, and the tone has shifted slightly with a nice overtone of introspective regret, with shorter scenes and a nontraditional timeline.

Or so I say now. I barely have any written. I have most of the plotting and characterization done already, I just need to sit down and write the rest of it properly.

I’ve also been doing a bit more on Caedon’s Ghost Bar, and I’ve been toying with the idea of putting Molly Worthington to bed for a little while to return to The Asphalt Messiah, which is admittedly better developed, pre-writing-wise if not with regard to the setting. I’ve kind of burned myself out on the former, which isn’t to say I don’t want to finish it. Just, I miss Lucas and Logan and Alexa and Sofia and Antony. I miss the secret undercurrent of bloodlust that nobody but me is currently aware of, the promise of fangs and wickedness and non-human anthropocentrism. I still have a bit more to do with it. I’ve been thinking about begging internet people to send me photos of the cities they live in, particular warm ones near the ocean, preferably with shipyards or docks.

It’s amazing how I can be both productive and completely unproductive, but there you have it. I can’t just work on one thing. On the bright side, I have yet to abandon any of these projects; I just flit between them like a squirrel ahead of oncoming traffic.

