ship shape for nanowrimo!

by Shannon

ship

This is basically where I'm going to be living for the next month.

So I signed up for NaNoWriMo. Cue moans and groans. Place bets on how long it’ll take me to quit, I know. But this year is different! Is it? I don’t know. This is part of my whole new “positive thinking writer” method, where I keep lying to myself until I eventually believe it. This is the year I write because I enjoy it, because I love the characters and purely for my own entertainment. This is the year I stop caring that I suck!

I realize that I sound like a motivational speaker, but honestly, I’m just trying to cheer myself on. It’s a constant project, but I am trying oh so hard to stick to my vow! Anyway, regardless of my “whole new writer self” project, I really had no intention at all of signing up for this. I’m a very slow writer, probably because I care so much about quality that I painstakingly labor over every word and consequently get nothing at all done.

Also, I had every intention of continuing to focus on my various short story projects and my year-round ongoing urban fantasy project, but the thing is, I am really very obsessed with the band Of Monsters And Men and their as-yet-unreleased album (anywhere except for Iceland! grrrr) uses quite a lot of maritime imagery. So as I sat around my house cheering along to sea shanties, somewhere between the lines “And in the sea that’s painted black,” and “creatures lurk below the deck,” I found myself with a lapful of krakens and ambitious girl!captains defying gender stereotypes and foreign jungles and Imperial Navys. (Navies?)

Anyway, the reason I mention it is because in years past, I started planning months beforehand and STILL always hit a wall where I hadn’t done it well enough. Now this year, I have less than two weeks to learn how ships work, what they can carry, how to survive a voyage to another continent, how many people it takes to crew a ship, how to fix it while you’re in the middle of the ocean, and also how a person might go about creating a map without any real technology and how to make that process sound interesting on the page. Also, the names! I have two good names and about nine billion other characters that need to exist at least in some form. And here I am writing about it, and neither researching nor mapping anything. BAD SHANNON. This is why you fail!

If you are interested, you can check out my nanowrimo profile/synopsis here! And if they ever bring back full functionality, feel free to befriend me and cheer me on or something. Apparently people actually like this story idea, which is kind of a novel experience for me. I’m hoping the pressure of this twilight zone where people are actually interested in something I write will be enough to force me to win for the first time ever.

I don’t know what on earth I think I am doing. I must be insane.

Anyway, other life bullet points:

  • I am supposed to go visit Kristen and Joe next weekend! I am kind of excited about this, because I never see any friends literally EVER, except that driving there will cost me $50 in gas, and I am not in touch with anyone who could give me a ride. Also, this means I have to find some kind of super cheap way to get a Halloween costume. Also I have to not get lost trying to find State College.
  • Tim Timebomb’s Rocknroll Theater! I AM OBSESSED WITH THIS. ~there’s so many misconceptioooons of hell~ I will be singing this song for the next week and a half.
  • I am back to thinking about what I want to do with my life. I briefly flirted with Environmental. Now I’m back to teaching again. Not that any of this matters, as I can’t afford more debt. But I’ll never afford more debt unless I take out more student loans to finish an education to get a job, which I probably won’t get because of the economy ANYWAY. Such a vicious cycle. Forgive my student loans, Obama! It’s a vicious cycle.

Anyhoo, happy Saturday, all.

